Help on designing a workflow - Dividing a table and running BIN analysis on each partition.

Hi,

I am new to Knime, so apologies for the naive question.

I have a table which contains the y-coordinate of a nucelus in 50 independent images and I want to create a bin analysis for each image, independently. Ideally, if the output could be % of nuclei in each bin rather than number of nuclei.

Basically I am trying to create a workflow where the software first filters by the column imageID (labelled 1-50) then for each of those run a BIN analysis and finally re-write the data so that my output table had 50 columns (one per image) x 40 BINS (as i want all my data to be divided into 40).

How should I design this workflow?

I have Group Loop Start -->Auto-binner → Value Counter → loop end Column append

But my final table he doesn’t add a column telling me which BIN it is and also by Group Loop doesn’t it use the data that was just generated as input to the new iteration rather than the original table but going on to the next set of filtered data?

Many thanks,

Giulia

Hi @giulia_g, you probably want a result similar to this one?:

To get such a result you need to rename the columns after the Value Counter node using a Column Rename (Regex) node as follows:

See also the attached example workflow: Groop Loop start example.knwf (16.6 KB)

That is the behavior of the Recursive Loop nodes, the Group Loop Start outputs all columns that belong to a group per iteration, the group is defined as all rows that share the same value in the group column.

best,
Gabriel

Hi Gabriel,

Thanks for your help!!! It works really well. The only thing is that it sets the BIN boundaries based on the first iteration rather than recalculating the BIN based on each image independently.
THANKS!!!

BW,

Giulia

Do you want different bins start and ends for each image? This would make the resulting data not comparable with each other.