How to pass a file with node POST (using with a RESTful API)

I was hopeing some RESTful node (in particular POST) experts can help me out here:

When using Postman to execute a POST to an API, everything works fine -
I am using a token for authentication in the header, a json string in the body. Also in the body, I upload a file (which is then used by the system I access). Postman offers a file-select dialogbox, there is not "string" one can view to see how it translates (at least I can't find anything of that sort).

Now if I want to do this within Knime I am not sure how to pass the file.
A test passing a JSON string for a case where I don't require a file works fine. But for cases when I want to refer to a file - I am not sure how.
In Postman it looks like there are two body portions, whereas the Knime node only has one body portion.

Any suggestions? 
(PS: I am not an expert in RESTful or JSON, I usually "make it work" though.)

This is complicated... The request still has just one body but consists of different parts. These types of request require a special encoding of the request body (e.g. multipart/form-data). Technically you can construct the correct encoding with a couple of pre-processing nodes but I suspect this gets quite complicated. Maybe someone from the forum takes this challenge and shares the results.

We have a node that takes several columns and creates an encoded request body on our list, however the list is long...

We have a "Multipart" node in Palladian (warning: usage it not quite straight forward ... feel free to get back in the Palladian sub forum). But you'll have to use the HttpRetriever then, instead of the REST nodes.

-- Philipp

1 Like

Thank you for your responses. 

@thor - which node do you have in mind for such a construction (several columns->encoded request body)? Or did you mean by "on our list" that it is under construction?