Count Variable as dependent variable

Dear all,
I am rather new in machine learning and I need to use knime to apply a machine learning algorithm to a certain dataset for a univeristy course. Such dataset reports death in USA in 2005, specifying variables such as sex, size of the city of residence, age range, cause of death and a column named “count” which indicates how many instances of deaths with such features were there in 2005. So each row represents a bunch of people having same sex, living in a same-size city… etc, died for the same reason. What I would like to do is to train the model so that it can tell which group of people will die because of suicide and which beacuse of accident/illness. In facts, given that I know cause of death, I could create a dychotomic column (yes, no) indicating if that group died suicidal or not. Thus this dychotomic variable will be my dependent variable and sex, size of city, race and count will be my independent variables.
What I would like to ask you is if there’s a way to tell to a Naive Bayes Learner, either by knime or Weka, that “count” is not simply a continuos variable, but it is rather a count of how many instances are there with those same features. Is there a way? May you suggest me which might be the right learner node to perform such training?
Thank you very much

Hi,

Does it solve your issue if you simply convert the column type of “Count” to string?
So the Learner treats the “Count” as a nominal similar to the other column types.

Best,
Armin

Dear Armin,
I am not sure. I may be wrong, but I believe it to be important that there are exactly say, 50 cases in a row and just 2 in another. I believe that the classifier should consider the evidence that the former row is a group which is bigger than the latter, in order to assign probabilities to new cases in a test set. In my mind, it is as if that 50-cases row shoulg weight more than the 2-cases one in the training phase. What do you think?
Thanks a lot
Elena