Merging several *.csv files

I am new to KNIME and am looking for a workflow such that I can import multiply *.csv files (actually 6 files to start with) and combine them into one single *.csv file to work with. All six are structured the same , with the same header varaibles.

For a starter, you can use six File Reader nodes which you set up for each of the CSV files.

Then, use a “Concatenate” node to combine the six tables. There’s a variant with four input ports:

As obviously 4 < 6, you’ll need to chain two of them together (connect the first four File Reader nodes to one Concatenate node) and then its output and the two remaining File Readers to a second Concatenate node.

Later, when you want to make your workflow more generic and want to be able to handle 7, 8, 11, or 235 CSV files (and just one File Reader, instead of 235), you could do this with the looping nodes.

– Philipp

2 Likes

Well that’s an easy start. What I really need is (I suspect) some sort of loop. That is I have a directory where I will be adding csv files 1 to n and will (at some point) want to combine them into one file.

I’ve started toying with this Untitled but its not working yet?

1 Like

What’s the message from Table Reader? You see it when you hover your mouse over the warning sign.

WARN Table Reader 2:4 Input file ‘C:\Program Files\KNIME\0’ does not exist

Node 2: List Files see the files (all 6) and lists them
Node 3 I’m assuming starts the loop
Node 4 should read the tables. I set Use Variable, currentIteration, under the Variable Settings???
Node 5 again assuming it will loop until there are no more files

That’s just an index number, hence the …\0. You’ll need to use the file path instead.

where do I set that (option)
Untitled

I got it I had to set Node 4 to the first csv file. So now o continue my work flow from Node 4 or Node 5

Hi there @reichmaj,

welcome to KNIME Community Forum!