Batch execution changes workspace path

Hello,
I’m trying to execute a workflow (WF_test) in batch mode using this command in a .bat file:

C:\Program Files\KNIME\knime.exe" -nosplash -reset -application org.knime.product.KNIME_BATCH_APPLICATION -workflowDir=“C:\KNIME_REPOSITORY\KnimeBatch\WF_batch\WF_test” -preferences=C:\KNIME_REPOSITORY\preferences.epf -vmargs -Dlog4j.configuration=C:\KNIME_REPOSITORY\log4j3.xml

Worflow is executed and log is produced, but i don’t understand why it changes the workspace’s path to “C:\Users\myname\knime-workspace”
as showed in log:

(this folder doesn’t exists, so it creates this folder and put log there)

while my workspace is set to another directory: C:\KNIME_REPOSITORY.
I tried adding option -data= <workspace_path> to the .bat, but it won’t change anything…

Could someone please help me to understand and fix that?
Thank you
(ps. Sorry, I’m not an expert)

Ema

1 Like

I think it’s also the reason why if I use relative paths for my tables (knime://…) in the workflow it fails execution: every path is substitute with the wrong path…

“C:\KNIME_REPOSITORY” (right path) is replaced with “C:\Users\myname\knime-workspace”

1 Like

Seems that I’m not the only one who finds out this issue:

so, this problem is also on Linux.

1 Like

Hi Ema,

That’s an interesting problem. Sadly I don’t know the answer, but I’m guessing the command line argument -data=<workspace_path> is being overwritten by another config file loaded.

Could you check the knime.ini file for a -data parameter? If its not in there, you could try the preferences.epf you are loading or changing the RECENT_WORKSPACES variable in <knime-install-folder>\configuration\.settings\org.eclipse.ui.ide.prefs (make sure to escape backslashes, colons, etc.). This last change will also affect KNIME when started normally.

Let me know, if any of these work for you :slight_smile:

Kind regards
Marvin

Hi Marvin!

Thank you for your support, I tried the following: