Call same workflow from different nodes with different tables

Hi. I am very new to Knime.

I have a base table and want to summarise it at different levels (group by) of detail. Each time I do that, I need to calculate a percentage, using if(COL_A = 0,0,COL_B/COL_A).

Rather than having to put a Maths node after every GroupBy node, is there a way to have a Metanode or callable workflow which will take the table output from the calling node and return it, at the correct level of detail?

I can’t see how to achieve this with containers or metanodes, and not sure which area of functionality to read up on. I’d appreciate any tips.

Hi,
I don’t completely understand your use case. First you group by a couple of columns, then COL_A and COL_B are in the result but how are they aggregated? Or are they part of the group columns? Generally, you can probably wrap your logic into a component and use a Column Selection Configuration node to add a column selection to the component’s configuration dialog. Then you can select your group columns there and pass them via flow variable to the GroupBy node, followed by a Math Formula, which is the output of the component.
Kind regards,
Alexander

Thanks for your reply. To clarify:

1. I group by columns. COL_A and COL_B are aggregated using SUM.
  2. Then I have a Math formula to do if(COL_A<0,0,COL_B/COL_A).

This is straightforward. My use case is that I have the same detail table with 5 GroupBy nodes coming off in parallel, because I am grouping by different sets of fields. However in each case, I aggregate COL_A and COL_B, and then have to have a following Math Node with exactly the same formula. Not exactly DRY. My objective is that if I have to have 5 GroupBy nodes, then ideally I would just want to have a single called Node / Workflow that can be called with parameters, and will pass the result back to the calling GroupBy node. I’m not sure if that’s achievable with Knime.