Checking on a column, concatenate values of two other columns

I am new to Knime. I have a data-frame like this:

What I have to do … for a row, if the option_present value is FALSE, then answer value will be concatenated to the question value and removed from the answer column

For example, in the Row 9… question will be concatenated with “Household member” (the ‘answer’)za

Hello @soumyabg,

As per my understanding, a “simple” Column Expressions” will do :
Example : From start to result :

For your dataset the formula should look like this :
if (column(“option_present”)==“False”) {
join(column(“question”),column(“answer”))
} else {column(“question”)}

Ps: You have to check “Replace Column” in the node

Basic Javascript : JavaScript | MDN (mozilla.org)

Br,
Samir

4 Likes

In addition to @SamirAbida’s note,

to clear down the answer column, an additional expression within the same Column Expressions node can be used with a similar expression:

An alternative approach could be to use a less well documented form of expression within the String Manipulation node:

Conditional String Concatenate and Clear.knwf (10.4 KB)

4 Likes

That’s one of the limitations that I don’t like about Knime - and it cannot do otherwise, in that you have to have different nodes or different expressions when dealing with different output columns, even though you want to apply the same logic, meaning the same if statement has to be repeated, and more importantly, re-evaluated.

And on the maintenance side, if for some reason you have to make modifications to the logic, you have to go to each node or expression to modify the logic. For example, what if in the future they decide that the logic should change from option_present being False to being False or Empty? That’s very likely and possible.

If you want the if statement to be evaluated only once, then you have to use programming languages.

So, as an alternative solution, you can also use a Java Snippet (Python, etc also will do):