Create a plugin for trimmomatic using GenericKnimeNodes

Hallo,
I want to create a plugin using GenericKnimeNodes for trimmomatic. Trimmomatic is a java based tool. As far as I know I need a bash script to make it executable. I’m new in this field and I don’t know how I can make an executable bash script. What should I write there. Please help me. Some suggestions or example

Hi,
to run trimmomatic from a shell script, you simply put the trimmomatic command in it and pass the parameters. On Linux, for example, you could create a script called trimmomatic.sh and put the following content inside: java -jar trimmomatic-0.35.jar "$@"
The “$@” means that all the arguments given to the shell script are passed to trimmomatic. Then you need to create a CTD file for your shell script and generate the nodes using GKN. For Windows you need to create a corresponding bat file, I think.

1 Like

@AlexanderFillbrunn
Thank you very much. Could you tell also how I can adjust it to parameters. I mean, I get parameters from cmd.file separated by a space but there should be a colon (":") between parameter and parametervalue in trimmomatic execution command. How can I formulate it by bash script

Hi,
what is the cmd file? Where does that come from? To replace spaces with colons in the parameters, you could use SED. But I am not sure how you can ensure that only the relevant spaces are replaced and not all of them.

@AlexanderFillbrunn
sorry, I mean with cmd CTD-file actually
Thank you.There are only colons between parameter and parameter value. I’ll try with SED

Hi @Natala

unfortunately you are right that the currently implemented default CommandGenerator, that creates
the command line from the CTD file, always separates option ("-xyz") and parameter value by
a whitespace. For such special command line tools like trimmomatic, you indeed have to either
write a little bash/bat script wrapper (as already mentioned), or you have to implement an own