Data Warehouse Lifecycle

Hi, I am new to Knime and new to data science as well.  I come from the world of traditional data warehousing and I am looking to begin introducing customers and clients to predictive capabilties at each of our operational/analytic reporting engagements.

I'll start by saying that I may not be understanding and applying this technology correctly.  However, I envision this technology living along side a traditional warehouse so that prescriptive analysis is continuously feeding future predictions.

Here is where I am struggling (in this case I am applying kmeans clustering to wrap my head around customer churn, I am using the example here: http://www.knime.org/knime-applications/churn-analysis)

I have fed some of our data in and been able to generate some high level insight. Additionally (and here is where this breaks) I want to apply analytic analysis, so for example.  I recognize that I have a cluster that has very low retention, and they are utilizing very specific product features/behavior.  My next question may be, ok, where did we acquire these customers.  (i.e. were they part of some crazy promotion?  Next lets find the sales person and department responsible and slap their hand,etc.)

To do this, I need to assign a cluster key to specific customer accounts and use that account information to join back to the warehouse and analyze aquisition source, department, etc..  

Kmeans only accepts numeric inputs, and seems to calc on every field. 

My first question is, am I even using this technology correctly?  Or do we stop at the high level cluster and inform the organization that if you do promotions in the future, be sure to market other features since some of our product/features are resulting in high churn?