Database connection centralized

Hi there,

I’m new to KNIME and I’m looking for a clean way to centralize database connections.
What I call “clean” is: an administrator should be able to change the connection string, username & password somewhere when the database changes (could be related to dev / test / prod release or server change) without modifying any code. So far I didn’t find a clear way to do that.

My current guess is this: KNIME Database Extension - Server Setup but so fat I didn’t succeed to set this up and I’m not even sure that’s the proper way. Could someone help please ?

Thank you for your help,
Sébastien

Hello Sébastien,

Welcome to the forum!

For this use case, I would recommend utilizing the Shared Component functionality. With this, you can write a sub-workflow with nodes containing DB connection details that can be shared with different users. Thus, the administrator can maintain this component and change the connection information when it is needed.

You can also include Configuration Nodes within the component that would allow end-user input (username, password) to the component.

For more information about components, check the Documentation.

Let me know if this helps!
-Stephen

1 Like

Dear Stephen,

thank you for your answer.

Unfortunately I would like to avoid this solution, because it means:

• the code is not the same in dev / test / prod, which is not a very good practice I think
  • devs have to access the prod, which should not be allowed
  • or admins have to be KNIME devs, which is often not the case

Thank you anyway for your help and your quick answer,
Sébastien

Sébastien,

Regarding your three points:

• This component could be made dynamic. It’d be a simple change when the details of the DB change. Or you could make three separate components for dev/test/prod DBs.