Does anybody have an idea about how to convert JSON-stat file to a table from a REST-API server?

Hi there,

I am very new in Knime and Data Science. I searched a lot, but could not find a similar topic which could help me to solve my problem.

I am trying to GET data from a web page which supports REST API. There are two options for formatting; Json-stat and csv file. When it comes to csv I am able to get data and create a table. But json-stat is not flat and I couldnot write json-path or even do not understand how I can achieve that. I tried approximately every combination in Knime forums and hub. Json to table, Jsonpath, Cell splitt, ungroup and so on…

Here is an example data: https://data.ssb.no/api/v0/dataset/1120.json?lang=no
I want to get this data with GETRequest and drive that into a table which is available for further manipulation.

I hope there will be someone to help me to make this work. It is important for my further work.

Is there anybody to help me on this? As I understand there should be one or more loop to make it work. But I have really no idea about how to do that.

You might have a look at this examples and see if you could define a path that would help you. The structure seems to be quite unique.

It might well be that you have to define sub-json paths. Extract a part of JSON and then define a new path like in the example.

kn_example_json_get.knwf (26.0 KB)

1 Like

Thank you for your answer. I got your point and it helps me a lot.

Do you have any idea about how one can convert it to a table? I mean JSON-stat files are files that contains table with a described pattern. Also they could store very large amount of data. So I am afraid of that I could change data when I am trying to get it. For example, we have 2 color options, 3 material options and 6 values. How can I extract this table without interference?