Feature request

Dear all,

I though that it would be a good thing to have a place to insert feature requests. I looked over the site but could not find any place that would match this, so here is an entry point for this, or perhaps can you point me in the best place to provide feature requests.

I am new to KNIME and my first disapointment comes with writting your own snipplet (and writting your own rules). Although eclipse provides a framework that allows code folding, auto-complete, code coloring, error checking etc. the snipplets only provides a place to type in some text without any added features.
I thus suggest to make better use of the IDE. For instance, when a Java snipplet is created, and when slecting the editor, the project could switch to the java perspective and add a java file to the project and therefore provide the same advantages as develloping a Java project.

This could be done also to devellop your own R scripts (via StatET), etc. In addition using the EclipseColorer http://colorer.sf.net/ could be useful.

I would also like to suggest to implement an undo redo feature.

I would also suggest allowing users to automatically run the node, when possible, afterclicking apply (in the node properties). This could be an option.

Some shortcuts to insert nodes, ass well as automatically adding the node when double clicking from the Node repository would be great.

Finally, it would be great if there was an easy mechanism to personalize the organization of the nodes.

Hope this are useful suggestions and that others will join me in providing some feature requests.

1 Like

I would add some if you do not mind. Here are some from users nearby: These are the low hanging fruits IMHO:

1. add keywords to the node names (and search for them in the Node Repository search box)
  2. context menu for the text fields/area (Copy, Cut, Paste)