Free memory after executing a node?

Hey there,

Here's the scenario: I have a workflow for social media text analysis - there are several different workflows for removing words, calculate frequencies, ngrams, etc. When I have a smaller data set (such as 50K - 100K tweets), I can let it run alone, completely, without problems. But when I have a much bigger data set, like 500K tweets, there are nodes that cause problems to Knime - it starts to freeze, not responding, potential deadlocks, I've also got a message about heap limit exceeded. It forces me to close and restart Knime. My workaround is: I run the workflow until the previous node where I might have problems, save the data, close Knime, reopen and execute workflow again. I might need to this 2 times depending on the data set.

Here's what it looks to happen (not sure if that makes sense, as I'm no expert on this area...): when the above scenario happens, I usually open the task manager and the memory is at 99% (like +6GB being used). Closing Knime it looks like the memory is "free", so opening Knime and executing the rest of the workflow works. It seems like the memory is starting to acumulate while the worklow is executed.

As I said, no expert here so this might not make sense, but glad if someone can help.

THanks!

Gustavo

Hi Gustavo,

How much "heap" have you assigned to KNIME? This is the -Xmx value you find in the knime.ini. And when you say you are looking at the task manager and then find the process using 99% of the (system) memory... does that mean the assigned memory is larger than the available memory? Maybe the system is using swap space (so your hard disc) and then obviously things become slow.

If that's not the problem: Will it be possible for you to share the workflow with us so that we can diagnose a bit?

Bernd

Thanks Bernd! See the workflow attached. I removed the data, but I believe you would be able to find any potential problems on it.