Grouping lists minimizing unique values

Hi,
I am new to Knime, and so far I’ve been able to find answer to all of my questions on this page, but I’m really struggling with this one.

I have lists of tasks (TASKGROUP). I’ll show 4 lists, but the real problem could have thousands of lists, say 3000:

List 1: tasks A, B, C, D
Count of tasks: 4

List 2: tasksC, D, E, F

List 3: tasks A, D, F
Count of tasks:3

List 4: tasks B, C, D, F

I want to group the lists so that the resulting groups have:

• approximately the same amount of tasks
  • the minimum sum of unique tasks.

Example:

List (1 + 2)
COUNT of TASKS: A, B, C, D, E, F = 6 tasks
Sum of tasks: 4+4 = 8

List (3 + 4):
COUNT of TASKS: A, B, C, D, F = 5 tasks
Sum of tasks: 3+4 = 7

Total unique tasks = 6 + 5 = 11 unique tasks
The 2 groups have respectively 8 and 7 as sum of tasks, which is acceptable.

Alternative solution

List (1 + 4):
COUNT OF TASKS: A, B, C, D, F = 5 unique tasks
Sum of tasks: 4+4 = 8 tasks

List (2 + 3):
COUNT OF UNIQUE TASKS: A, C, D, E, F = 5 unique tasks
Sum of tasks: 3+4 = 7 tasks

Total unique tasks: 5 + 5 = 10 unique tasks, which would be a better solution than the first one.
The 2 groups still have 8 and 7 as total tasks.

The number of groups should be editable, and it can range from 1 to 100.
The minimization of the overall number of unique tasks is the priority.
It is not important how many lists I have to group to achieve (approximately) the same sum of tasks.

The purpose is to create scenarios:

• 1 group → all the 3.000 lists are merged together, the result is a simple count of unique items
  • 2 groups → the purpose is to find the smart grouping to minimize the sum of unique items of the 2 groups
  • 3 groups → …
  • 4 groups → …
  • 3.000 groups → each list is a group, where the result is the sum of the distint count of items in each list

Thank you very much.

@stefanof92 - would you mind sharing the data / workflow you already have? That would be helpful.

1 Like