How can i assign pre-defined topics to verbatims

Hello everyone,

I am quite new with KNIME and do have a challenge, which I hope can be answered by someone :slight_smile: Though I have browsed and checked some workflows, already (e. g. "Topic detection based on movie reviews), I have not found a soultion, yet. And here is the task:

I have a lot of verbatims from social media reviews, already in an excel list. Moreover, I have given clusters such as “friendlyness of staff” or “quality of repair”, also in an excel list. Each cluster is represented by tag words or by a combination of tag words. Now, I need to assign 1-3 clusters to each verbatim, depending on what the text is about, i. e. which tag words or combinations of tag words appear in the text - and hence which cluster applies. The results should be written next to the verbatim column of the original document (e. g. by using the columns next to the verbatims for each topic and by writing “1” in the column, if the topic applies).

I hope, I have explained my question in a clear way and I am thankful for your kind feedbacks.

Best regards

Sebastian

Can Nobody help here?

Hi @fossil78,

you might want to give Dictionary Tagger node a try. There is a workflow on our example server which you can use as template: https://www.knime.com/nodeguide/other-analytics-types/text-processing/sentiment-analysis-lexicon-based-approach

You read the three dictionaries (excel files with tags representing a cluster/class) with an Excel Reader node and apply them with a Dictionary Tagger node each. This way all the terms in your corpus will be tagged based on your custom dictionaries. Afterwards you can perform aggregations based on the tags and assign classes to the twitter documents based on the amount of tags from the different dicionaries.

Does that help?

Cheers,
Marten

1 Like

Hi Marten,