How can I split a cell into alpha and numeric columns

I have a column with an identifier that has both alpha and numeric characters. I want to split this column into 2 columns, one containing only the alphas, the other containing only the numerics. For example:

Col1                   Col2        Col3

1012BXY -------> 1012      BXY      

I have tried using the Regex Split node but I'm having difficulty formatting an expression that works (I am a regex newbie). Can anyone give me an example of what expression should be input into the node to enable the split?

Thanks

Jon Timko

"(\d+)(\w+)" should do the trick (\d = digits, \w = word characters).

Dear All,

How can I further Col2 into its component numbers using regex split?

Col4 Col5 Col6 Col7

1 0 1 2

I am sorry for the simple query.

With best regards,

Philip

([0-9])([0-9])([0-9])([0-9]) should do it.

However I would probably use the node "cell splitter by position" and for split indices use "1,2,3,4".

Simon.

Dear Simon,

Thank you very much for looking into it. I am trying to split a chemical fingerprint (of length 1024) column. Maybe the regex is pattern is not sufficient.
Can you please kindly look at the attached protocol (modified from an existing protocol) and kindly suggest again ?

With best regards,
Philip

I dont have access to KNIME right now, but the Expand BitVector node should be what you are looking for to split out a Fingerprint.

Simon.

Dear Simon,

Thank you again. But I was not able to split it with the expand bitvector node. Can you please kindly look into it again by downloading it and trying it yourself ?
I am sorry to trouble you with this.

With best regards,
Philip

Would like to help looking at this, but without a data file it's a bit of a pain.

With the description of your initial post, could it be that you have a decimal fingerprint? I think the expand bitvector node only works with binary FP.