How to use trained BERT model to predict new data?

Dear All,

I am currently using the workflow developed by BBC Documents classification with BERT extension. I replaced BBC documents with my own data and trained the fine tuned BERT model. Upon here, everything works fine.

My question is: I actually want to use the fine tuned model to process a large amount of articles and generate predictions for every article. How would I amend the workflow to achieve this? I know this sounds not challenging at all, but, I am new to KNIME, so I look forward to see your help.

My initial plan as follows:
Perhaps I after trained Bert model, I can disconnect BERT PREDICTOR (btw, the disconnect botton turned grey and does not work) from the model. And I dock it with my own large dataset (stored as txt files, same as the uploading format of this model) at the front. After processing, I output the results with column appender or domain calculator? Will that work?

I sincerely thank you for any hints you can provide.

Hi @Mark_Zheng -

One way to approach this would be to have separate workflows for training your model, and deployment of that model. During the training workflow, you just make sure to use the Model Writer as you are already doing.

Then, in the deployment workflow, you use a Model Reader, along with your new dataset and any other preprocessing nodes you might need, to pass into the BERT Predictor.

(If you wanted to get even more sophisticated, you could use Integrated Deployment to approach this as well, but I would leave that until you’re more comfortable with the manual approach first.)

1 Like

Hi Scott,

Thank you so much for timely reply. One follow up question (although looks primitive): if I want a table that records the content as one column, and predictions (categories) as another column, so that I can make a summary of predictions. What might be the ideal node that conncects to the Bert Predictor as output?

Thank you so much.