Interactive Annotator causing Pixel Classification Model to fail

Hi everyone,

I’m new to KNIME.

I’ve been attempting to segment cell nuclei using 9 images (originally UnsignedByteType, 4096 x 4096) to train a model. I’m using the Interactive Annotator and the Pixel Classification Model node to do the manual labeling.

The annotator is creating a new table of images with the options “Add unique segment id as label”, ARRAY_IMG_FACTORY and BYTETYPE as storage type.

The first round of manual annotations goes well and the Pixel Classification Model executes without problems. However, when attempting to add new annotations to some of the images for fine-tuning, the Pixel Classification Model fails with the error Value not defined for given nominal attribute!.

The new features I want to annotate are on the 4th image, but I’m only allowed to create new annotations on the 1st image.

What could I be doing wrong?

This doesn’t appear to be the normal behavior for the Image Annotator.

I’ve been at it for 2 days and I can’t seem find detailed documentation for these nodes anywhere, so I would really appreciate some pointers.

Thanks,

Fabiane

Hi @ffernandes,
have you taken a look at https://www.knime.com/supervised-image-segmentation ? There you can download an example workflow that demonstrates the plugin. It might give you some further ideas for your work.

As far as I can tell from your error description you are trying to add a new class to the image? It is possible that this is not fully supported for later images in the table. Do you have an image that contains all classes? If so try to put it first, then the model should be correctly initialized. Feel free to ask more questions if this unclear or doesn’t work.

best,
Gabriel

Hi Gabriel,

Thanks for the link.

Actually, “new features” was a wrong choice of words on my side. I’m not trying to add any new labels.