Job Title Description

Hi KNIME - I am totally new to KNIME and the most andvenced tool I used so far for analytics is Excel…

I parsed a jobboard for Job Titles (not unique) and the corresponding Skills. What I want to identify is the Skills (keywords and keywords combinations), that describe each Job Title the best, or are the most common on all job advertidsements for each Job Title.

I was tinkering around with preprocessing and bag of words, but I am kind of stuck when it comes to relating the terms back to the Job Titles. It feels like I am already doing something wrong, when setting the data up.

I would be glad, if somebody could give me advice here, or point into a direction - any help is appreciated.

Cheers
Oliver

Hi @obux,

Welcome to the KNIME community (and sorry for the late response).
Your initial approach seems to be right!
Could you explain a bit what you mean with relating the terms back to the job titles?

My colleague Vincenzo wrote a blog post about key word extraction which could be of interest for you. The corresponding workflow can be found here.

Additionally, there is also a component which already does all of that in one go.
You can find it here. You can simply drag and drop the component icon from the website into your KNIME Analytics Platform.
If you want to find out more about the concept of components, please have look at this documenation.
Basically, a component encapsulates a set of native KNIME nodes to hide complexity but also to be able to create a new “node” which can also be configured and/or provide interactive views.

I hope this helps. If you are stuck at a specific step, please let me know and we can have a look together (either post a screenshot or the workflow, if possible).

Cheers,
Julian

3 Likes

Hi Julian,