JSON splitter

Hi all,

I’m new to KNIME, but I already love it. And the fact that there is such a large and lively community out there discussing and helping each other, is great.

I have gone through many Youtube videos and forum posts and have come quite a long way, but I’m currently stuck.

So, I’m looking for some help and hope you guys can share ideas and thoughts.

My challenge:
I have a bunch of JSON files that contain the result of a data analysis tool. This JSON contains nested arrays. I would like to be able to write the values into a table depending on their level of nesting (sort of).

I have been playing around with JSON Path and Unpivoting and so far I do get a table, but not in the way that I need:

json_split.knwf (16.4 KB)

The result should look more like this:

Any thoughts?

Thanks,
Gaetano

2 Likes

Hi there @gentile,

welcome to KNIME Community!

I have taken a look at your workflow and this definitely seems like a task for Pivoting node. The only information missing for it is your group column. What it will actually define is what values goes into which row to get the output you are looking for.

I have modified your workflow and provided two solutions how to manipulate your data into somewhat similar format you are looking for. If it is not what you were looking for maybe it will give you some ideas :wink:

json_split_ipazin.knwf (35.5 KB)

Happy KNIMEing!

Br,
Ivan

2 Likes

Thank you @ipazin for taking the time to look into that!

The result is not exactly what I was looking for, as the nested arrays should be in line with their respective parent. Plus each parent should be copied for each of its children.

But it definitely gives me ideas to look further into. Let’s see where this leads me to :wink:

1 Like

Hi @gentile,

you are welcome. I see. So you need to develop additional logic. Not so much familiar with JSON so maybe someone else will have an idea. Good luck!

Br,
Ivan

Thank you, @ipazin.