LSTM Forecasting Data Conversion

Hi,

I’m quite new to KNIME and I’d like to use an LSTM NN for multivariate time series forecasting, however, I’m not sure how to convert my data for this.

Basically I have an excel table with variables as columns and the time steps as rows, and I would like to forecast the number of sales for the next few time steps.

Now, if I understood correctly the LSTM takes the input [time, input_dim], so would that time be the steps I’d like to forecast (e.g. 4 weeks, 1 month etc.) or the time steps I use for training? And input_dim would be the number of variables I have?

Secondly, I’m not sure how to normalize my data. I would like to use e.g. number of sales, temperature, day of the week etc., so I thought I needed to normalize that to values between 0 and 1.
However, if I just feed that normalized data into to the Keras Network Learner node, I get an error because it is not in the integer data format. If I transform the data to integer, it’s not really useful.

I’m guessing I need to convert my data in a different way but I’m a bit lost as to how…

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you in advance.

Hi @Stefanie,

The LSTM takes an input of the shape (time, input_dim). The time is the number of timesteps you want to give as a model input while input_dim is the number of features per timestep (as you said correctly).

This means that every row in your training table has to contain a whole time series of the length time and the value (/values) you want to predict for this time series. (time * input_dim columns). Note that you can generate many of these small training time series examples from your whole time series.