Nodes in languages other than Java?

Hi,

Let me start by saying thanks for providing knime. the new version looks like a great step forward!

I'm very interested in exploring the possibility of exposing a set of functionality to Knime that is not written in Java (it's C++ wrapped in Python). My current interest is in exposing an open-source cheminformatics and machine learning toolkit, but I could imagine other non-Java projects as well.

I'm not a Java programmer, so I can't assess how difficult my request is. Any ideas? Is this an idea who's time has not yet come?

Thanks again,
-greg

Well, it is possible - we are doing something like this with an old C executable (Quinlan's c4.5r8) ourselves over here. Since Quinlan's licensing terms are a bit odd, we can not put that node into the public release, though. However, I could send you the code for that node as an example if you are interested.

In general we do not quite like this idea because it makes it very hard to keep KNIME "in control". Canceling external executables, for instance, can be very hard if those external tools don't collaborate. Also, adding interactive views will be tough, since you won't have access to a lot of the HiLiting-functionality. But then again, adding new nodes has large value in itself!

Which tool are you thinking about?

The system I'd like to provide access to is actually a "full" cheminformatics suite (rdkit.sourceforge.net), analogous to the cdk only written in c++ with a python wrapper.

Maybe a look at the code you've used for c4.5 woud be helpful.

I probably also need to look into the possibility of putting a java wrapper around some of the rdkit classes using SWIG.

thanks for the answer,
-greg

Ok, if you send me your email address, I'll drop you the node that calls the C-stuff. Wrapping things is not that complicated. Wrapping stuff nicely is harder...