Parameterised queries but not in WHERE clause

Hi,

I’m new to Knime and have been looking everywhere for a solution. I’m trying to parameterize a query and run it for a given set of variables. I know I can use Parameterized Database Query node to do this but this seems to only apply to parameters in the WHERE clause.

I’m trying to parameterized the SELECT part too. For example:

SELECT COLUMN1, CASE WHEN MONTH = <MONTH_PARAMETER> THEN 1 ELSE 0 END
FROM MY_TABLE WHERE MONTH = <MONTH_PARAMETER>

I am trying to loop through multiple years and have to run this one month at a time and need to also update the parameter in the SELECT part of the statement.

Any guidance appreciated!

1 Like

Hi @Tty, welcome to the forum!

I’m slightly confused because as it stands a sql statement in the form you’ve described could equally be written as

SELECT COLUMN1, 1
FROM MY_TABLE WHERE MONTH = <MONTH_PARAMETER>

since it would only ever return a row when MONTH=<MONTH_PARAMETER> and therefore your case condition could only ever return 1 for the rows returned by the query.

Am I misunderstanding? :wink:

I’m presuming this was just because it was a simple example of your requirement, rather than the actual requirement…

So I was wondering if you have a more concrete example of what you are trying to do, as it might alter the way this could be approached. As it stands, it sounds like you are trying to write “dynamic sql” rather than just add parameter values.

3 Likes

Just thinking out loud… I wonder if the DB Query Extractor and/or DB Query Injector might be of some use here, combined with some manual string manipulation on the query itself?

3 Likes

Hi @ScottF , I think you’re right. There’s no reason why not and that’s partly why I was interested to know a better example of the requirement, and also whether the facilities of the Parameterized DB Query Reader are being utilised/needed.