Problem with Image Writer Node

Dear All,

I am a beginner user of KNIME. This platform seems perfectly suitable for the image processing that I am planning to do, so I am very excited about trying to learn it more thoroughly.

However, so far I haven't been successfull in carrying out very basic operations.... I am trying to read an image, threshold it on multiple levels, and then save the thresholded file as a .tiff file. To do this, I used the Image Reader node, the Multilevel Thresholding node, followed by the Image writer node. 

The workflow seems to work without errors, however, the resulting 'images' are completely black. In the Multlevel Thresholding node I checked the images using 'Image viewer' (in the right-click menu), which shows a 2-column table with left the filename and right "Image"column displaying the the black images. When I double-click the on one of the black images, a new window opens, showing the correct, thresholded image. Therefore, it appears as though this node is carrying out the work OK. I noticed that within this window the file type is denoted as 'UnsignedByteType'. I have no clue what that means though.

I guess I am missing a file conversion node, or that I am doing something wrong with the Image Writer node....however, I have tried a lot of different things, without succes. 

Can anybody help me solving this (possible very simple) problem?

thanks in advance,
bart

Hi Bart,

I am very happy that you have found KNIME and are excited to use it for image processing.

The cause for your problem is that your image needs normalization. The output of the Multilevel Thresholding node is not normalized, you can see this in the image viewer when you unckeck the Normalize checkbox. You can perform a normalization with the Image Normalizer node.

best,

Gabriel Einsdorf

Hi Gabriel,