Question about a project that requires text processing

Hello,

I am new to Knime, and I am working on an analytics project for a fundraising institution. The goal of this project is to find factors and correlations that can predict individuals most likely to receive an award.

I was considering to do logistic regression for this, but when I received the data (a large Excel file), I realized that the most relevant information was unestructured data in the form of long paragraphs of text contained in cells (i.e. the educational background and the summary of the professional experience).

Now I think that in order to get the information I need, it would be necessary to do text mining (I do not have experience on this). I would really appreciate if somebody could help me with finding the best way to approach this project. Do you think that assigning a score based on the recurrence of terms from a dictionary could help to get a numeric value that can be used later for a logistic regression? In that case, what could be the best way to analize the text contained in a specific number of cells from a Excel file?

Thank you very much for your help!

Miguel

Hi Miguel,

do you have the educational background and summary of experience somehow in a structured form, e.g. a field containing the university, one containing the skills? Or is it all free unstructured text?

If it is all unstructured it sounds like a task like cv information extraction and normalization first, and second predictive modeling on the extracted, normalized data. However, cv information extraction and normalization is not an easy task, and to be honest i don't have experience in this field. It takes intelligent parsing techniques to get all the names and skills extracted and recognizes as those. As a first attempt i would try not to really extract the cv information into a structured form, but to build a bag of words for these summaries and use those for prediction.

The (pre)processing could be: