Referencing previous row

Hello everyone!

I’ve just downloaded and started using KNIME, so I’m a complete newbie. I was wondering if it is possible to reference data from the previous row in the table. I have a data table that contains values by dates:

Date Value1 Value2 …
1 2 3
2 4 5

What I need is to calculate the relative change in the value to the previous date

Date Value1 ChangeValue1…
1 2 -
2 4 (4-2)/2

So I need to reference the value from the previous row somehow. Can anybody show me how to do that?

Thanks.

Hi,

As far as I know this is not present in Knime or perhaps just the existing nodes. I posted awhile back on this: http://www.knime.org/node/245 .

Here is my work around.

Take table one

RowID Entity Value
Row1 A 123
Row2 A 124
Row3 A 125
Row4 B 125
Row5 B 124
Row6 B 123

Make a second table with a new RowId offset by the desired lag period.

RowID Entity Value
Row2 A 123
Row3 A 124
Row4 A 125
Row5 B 125
Row6 B 124
Row7 B 123

Then execute an inner join.

RowID Entity Value Entity_lag Value_lag
Row2 A 124 A 123
Row3 A 125 A 124
Row4 B 125 A 125
Row5 B 124 B 125
Row6 B 123 B 124

You’ll notice that you now have less rows and non-matching rows in the merged table. You’ll need to filter for the rows with non-matching enitity’s.

I apologize if this answer is a little unclear. I don’t have Knime on the machine I’m using right now. I’m happy to answer any questions and help how I can. It would be really useful for data manipulation tasks to have this type of functionality supported in Knime in an easier way. Specifically form the SQL standard the functionality provided by RANK, LAG, OVER, PARTITION BY, GROUP BY, and WINDOW would be useful in working with transactional, longitudinal, timeseries data.

That being said Knime is a fantastic tool that is coming along well.

What type of work are you doing? What area do you work in? I’m an analyst in the marketing/sales area of a financial firm. I tend to work with this type of data often in my tasks.