Removing Hair and annotating dark spots

This is my first try at image analysis ever. There are two requirements:

1. 1st is to mark and remove hair in the attached image,

So far, I have input the image , used "Gaussian convolution-> "DoG Spot Detection". The hair are distinctively darker. How can I now filter them out from original image?

I also tried using interactive labeller and labelled hair using free lines. How can I characterize these segments in terms of some features and then use this to recognize other hair in the image and remove them?

2. 2nd req is to mark and annotate dark spots.

After gaussian convolution and CLAHE the image quality clearly brings out the two spots. SPOT identification does not work. What segmentation should I use to recognize and mark these dark spots?

If these spots are again interactively labeled how can one identify their segment features (image features for these segments) and mark similar spots in other images?

Thanks in advance for your inputs!

Hi,

interesting problem. There are many ways to analyze these spots and hairs. I hope the following ideas will help you with your analysis.

1. Remove Hairs:

I played some minutes with some of our classical image processing nodes and tried to identify the hairs. See the upper-part of the attached workflow as a first step. Anyway, I think there is a much better way to get the hair positions: http://tech.knime.org/supervised-image-segmentation. This plugin allows you to calculate pixel features and then classify each pixel, in this case hair vs no-hair. This should actually work pretty well.

2. Detect and quantify spots