repeat the same calculation for multiple columns within a sheet

Hi
I am very new to Knime but I have found this tool full of potential and certainly enjoying using it.

I am trying to do a simple calculation involving one column dividing by another column, and I would like to do it for all 100 columns in the sheet. I can create the calculation with column expression node but I thought it was a bit inefficient since I had to set up the formula for every single column. I was wondering if there a more efficient way to do it? my gut feeling is that it may involve a loop. Thank you so much

1 Like

Hi @davidlan and welcome to the Knime Community.

If you are doing only calculation and are dealing with numbers, you can use the Math Formula node, which also has a version where you can apply the same calculation to multiple columns, and that node is called Math Formula (Multi Column)

Please take a look at them and let us know if you have any questions.

2 Likes

Thanks for the suggestion, but I am not to sure if that works for me.

I have attached my sheet here. What I have are two sets of calculation for each state. MA and MAT. I was trying to have MA divided by MAT for each state. I used column expression but found it a bit time consuming. Any suggestion would be welcomed. Thanks so much. example.xlsx (201.1 KB)

Welcome to the forum @davidlan.

There are probably a few ways to do this, but I think that the easiest way would be to restructure the data.

I find that new users to KNIME tend to think in Spreadsheet Mode (I’m not saying that you’re doing this), and it takes a while to realize that a KNIME table is not a spreadsheet. In KNIME it’s often much more efficient to work in rows compared to columns, and I think this is a prime example.