Search for specific terms in pdf files

Dear knime community,

I'm desperitely searching through the forum for days to find a very easy solution to search for specific termins in different pdf files. I want to search and them display the terms in a table and in a term cloud.

What i've done so far is added a PDF Parser and a BoW Creator of the start of my workflow. All the descriptions to text processing etc. didn't help me out so far.

I'm very new to knime and hope to find very easy help here.

Thanks in advance

Hope you can help me out.

Hi reclam,

the PDF Parser was the right node to start with. Then use the Dictionary Tagger node to find terms in the parsed documents. You need to provide also a list of terms that you want to search for. This list is your dictionary. Then filter all term except the tagged ones e.g. with the General Tag Set Filter. Finally create a bag of words.

Attached is an example workflow.

Cheers, Kilian

Hi Kilian,

thanks for you help, which works out perfectly.

Still I have two more questions

1. I download my PDF-Files directly from the internet (blogs, journals etc.) and convert them to pdf with chromes "save to pdf" - can I use/pull the corresponding files from the web directly without converting/downloading them to a pdf file (eg. with the httpRetriever?)
  2. In addition to count every terms within one pdf file I want to count the pdf-files the term occurs at least once. Let me make an example - I'm searching for the term "bonus" and I have 50 PDF-Files as a data basis. What I'm trying to find out is: "In how many of the 50 PDF-Files the word "bonus" occurs at least once. Is the a method to do this with knime?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Best regards

Sebastian

Hi Sebastian,