Speech to text from wav/mp3 file

I am very new to KNIME, coming from Alteryx. I am investigating speech to text capabilites of KNIME and I have discovered many example workflows in the KNIME forums, Here is an example. I know the BING and Watson APIs are not working but I cannot even get the CMU sphinx to work. it will work with the sample workflow but I cannot figure out how to make it work with my own file. Can anyone give me a push in the right direction?

Hi @onp1ldy,

in said example, you should be able to delete the “Explorer Browser” node (only needed to handle the relative path of the audio file - should not be relevant in your case) and configure the “List Audio Files” node so that it reads the file you want to transcribe (drag in a new “List Audio Files” node or make sure to remove the flow variable setting in the “Flow Variables” Tab of the existing node - see here or here for background on flow varaibles).

Other than that, could you please provide some more information? Could you describe why/what/where your procedure is failing? If you could even share an audio snippet I’m happy to help further along.

I hope that helps already!

Best regards,
Lukas

3 Likes

Thanks @LukasS, So I tried what you had suggested. I selected an audio clip of myself speaking. It is about a 45 second clip of me talking about dead air in an audio file and how long I will stop speaking. What I get from CMUSphinx is the transcription in the photo

Hi @onp1ldy,

I think the culprit is the sampling rate: the underlying model is trained with 16 kHz sampling rate - see the node description of the CMUSPhinx4 SR node - and most recording softwares use a higher sampling rate. You can check the sampling rate with the “Audio Data Extractor” node:

44.1kHz in my case. In order to transcribe this, you’d need to downsample your audio file to 16kHz.