Split and remove some texts in the input lines and store the result in new columns using String Manipulation node.

Hi KNIME Community Team,

I am new to KNIME. I have a small query regarding string manipulation node.

I have a input file as below like.

2015-05-01 00:03:21,962 NodeName CellName ModuleName TechnologyName <xml>..xml contents.</xml>
2015-05-01 00:03:21,962 NodeName CellName ModuleName TechnologyName <xml>..xml contents.</xml>

Using Line reader I have loaded each line in one new row. 

Now, I would like to remove upto Technologyname in the each line and store only <xml>...</xml> contents as string in the table for further process.

I have tried some functions which is provided in the sting manipulation node. But, no luck. Kindly suggest some ideas to achieve this.

Thanks in advance.

Kind regards,

velu

Hi,

here is the function for cutting everything before <xml> using the string manipulation node

substr($column1$,indexOf($column1$, "<xml>") )

Best, Iris

Hi Iris,

Thank you so much for your reply and your solution worked as I expected.

In addition, I am trying some interesting activity also with the input.

e.g

2015-05-01 00:03:21,962 NodeName CellName ModuleName TechnologyName <one: xml>..xml contents.</one: xml>
2015-05-01 00:03:21,962 NodeName CellName ModuleName TechnologyName <two: xml>..xml contents.</two: xml>
2015-05-01 00:03:21,962 NodeName CellName ModuleName TechnologyName <three: xml>..xml contents.</three: xml>
2015-05-01 00:03:21,962 NodeName CellName ModuleName TechnologyName <four: xml>..xml contents.</four: xml>
2015-05-01 00:03:21,962 NodeName CellName ModuleName TechnologyName <five: xml>..xml contents.</five: xml>
2015-05-01 00:03:21,962 NodeName CellName ModuleName TechnologyName <six: xml>..xml contents.</six: xml>
2015-05-01 00:03:21,962 NodeName CellName ModuleName TechnologyName <seven: xml>..xml contents.</seven: xml>

For that, I have to executed the below nested expression as follow,