Split in more than two parts

Hello!

Here is my problem.

My table contains rows that have a mol_id. This mol_id is shared by hundred of rows. I'd like to separate the rows depending on the mol_id and then do some stuff with only these rows. A spliter would be great but the "splitter" node can only separate rows into two parts and I have more than two mol_id.

One of my idea is to tell Knime: take only the rows with one mol_id in particular and do the job, then choose another mol_id and do the same job, until you take all the rows. That's sound like a loop, but I can't find a loop that allows me to loop with the mol_id. I'm a beginner with the loop but I think it's possible, I just don't know how...

Anyone has an idea?

Thanks.

Nico

Use a similar process to the workflow I built you on a previous post.

Use a GroupBy node on the Mol_ID column, this will get all the unique Mol_IDs. Then take this resultant list and pass it into a TableRow to Variable node.

Now connect a Row Filter node upto your main dataset, right click on the node and choose show flow variables. Connect the TableRow to Variable node to the left variable port of this row filter node.

Now configure the Row Filter node, choose to Include by Attribute value, use Pattern matching, and either click on the little variable button next to pattern matching and choose Mol_IDs from the dropdown, or click on Flow Variable tab and choose Mol_ID from the dropdown next to Pattern. Now click ok.

Now complete this with a Loop End.

This will now iterate over each Mol_ID per loop, all you need to do now is put in the nodes you want to use for the manipulate (i.e. what you want to do to the data) in between the Row Filter node and Loop End node.

Hope this helps.

Simon.

1 Like

Thank you Simon, it works perfectly.

Now if I want to write a xls file for each mol_id at the end of the work, how could I specify a different filename for each of them?