The importance of Hard Drive Size & Speed in Azure and AWS Knime Servers.

Hi All,

I am a postgraduate student planning to use Knime server only on an occasional basis when I need the processing power of an Azure machine. The rest of the time the Knime Analytics platform on my PC is enough for my needs. As such, my interest is to keep fixed costs as close to $0 as practically possible, when I am not using the Azure server.

An Azure and AWS Virtual Machine uses several hard drives. Could Knime Technical Experts please elaborate on the importance of hard drive size and hard drive speed on each of them? I imagine that other current and potential users might face this same need, so answers from Knime Server experts on this topic might benefit a lot of current and potential users.

1) Non-Persistent (Temporary) Hard Drive - This is the hard drive that is paired to the Azure virtual machine selected. No costs are incurred when the virtual machine is not in use. Am I right to assume that it is important for this hard drive to be large and high speed (sdd) as this is what Knime Server uses for temporary files related to the processing of large datasets (RAM swap file)?