Thresholding help

Hi, 

I am a newbie to Knime, so building my first workflow with much help from the examples.  I have images with three channels - red, green and bright field.  I have used the brightfield to create a mask, applied this to the red and green images, and taken the average fluorsecence from each cell.  Now I want to create a second mask,  using the red channel (I have bright puncta here I want to exclude), combine the mask with the one created from the bright field, and then apply this mask to the green channel.  I tried to threshold the masked red image to create the second mask but of course I just get back the same mask as before.  Is there a way to exclude the 'masked' pixels, eg convert them to NaN, then the threshold node will just look at the pixels within the cell? I also tried to just mask the red image, global threshold works for some images but not for others, I need it to be robust, is there a way to make it more stringent? Or is there another obvious approach to this problem?

I attach my knime workflow, but without data as it is too big without.

Another quick question, is there a good place to read up onthe different pixels types within knime, some I know but most I don't.

Thanks 

Hello aclany11,

first of all: Regarding your workflow you are really not a newbie anymore ;)

About your questions:
* Attached an example workflow (some minor changes) how to extract the very bright spots from the red channel and recombine the resulting mask with the brightfield mask (excluded the spots). I also used some other nodes (e.g. projector, resampler and image segment features directly for calculation of both the mean and number of pixels).

* Global Thresholder should work. Another idea would be the "Spot Detection" Node from our repository (not the trackmate one). If you don't have success with this node, maybe you could provide some of your hard examples (diverse examples) and we will have a look how to segment your spots more robust.