Wait for other loops iterations before looping.

Hi all,

Please excuse my lack of knowledge, I'm fairly new to all of this.

So at the moment, I have a 'List Files' node connected to a 'Table Row To Variable Loop Start' node connected to a CSV Reader. 

I have the exact same thing above it as well. Both CSV readers are connected to a Joiner and then a load of stuff happens after that (Also where do I put the 'End Loop' node?).

What I want to happen is to loop through the top 'List Files' 3 times, and the bottom 'List Files' to loop once. 

Once the top has reached 3 iterations, then the bottom one should loop to the next file. 

I haven't the foggiest on how to even go about this. Any help is appreciated.

Many thanks,
Daniel

Hi Daniel,

welcome to KNIME!

Honestly it would be much easier to understand how your workflow looks like and therefore help you if you would share at least a screen capture of it. In the Forum you can easily attach a screen capture as image file.

If you have two loops and need one to wait for the other to finish before it starts, there are several ways to do that depending if the loops are interwinded, independent, etc.

The classical way is to have two loops connected one after the other sequentially (meaning LOOP 1 START. --> ... some nodes... --> LOOP 1 END --> LOOP 2 START --> ... some nodes... --> LOOP 2 END). In this way the second loop starts only after the first one has finished.

Your case may be different though. If you want to loop 3 times and then enter another loop, you could use the Counting Loop Start node and set the Number of loops parameter to 3. If you want to loop on a table, 3 rows at a time, you can use the Chunk Loop Start and set Rows per chunk parameter to 3. In both cases there is a outer loop (looping 3 times or over 3 rows) and a inner loop, doing the the rest.

LOOP 1 START (3 times) ---> LOOP 2 START ---> ... more nodes... --> LOOP 2 END --> LOOP 1 END