Analyzing articles from various news sites

Hi there!
I am extremely new to KNIME and I’m trying to take articles from a website search on a particular topic and store them in a data table for text processing.

I’ve been trying to use the Applications, Forum Analysis workflow but I’m having problems adapting this to my own problem.
Any guidance on completing this task would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance,
Karen

1 Like

Hi,
I think the easiest way to automate the search and the content collection in web is to use Selenium nodes.
Here is a quick tutorial for Selenium nodes:
https://blog.statinfer.com/rule-the-web-with-selenium-nodes-in-knime/

Or maybe you can do this without using Selenium nodes. In that case you have to gather the search results (links) then loop over them and extract the content you need from each web page.
Here is a brief tutorial to get the content of a web page in KNIME (Palladian nodes are used in this method):
Blog post: How to get the content of a web page in KNIME
Video: Get the content of a web page in KNIME - YouTube

Best,
Armin

1 Like

Thank you so much, Armin!!!
I will take a look at that.

Warm regards,
Karen

Hello Armin!
The page you linked was very helpful. However, I’m not getting the output I desire.

I want to refer to the search results of a news page, such as this: https://www.nytimes.com/search?endDate=20190326&query=eric%20garner%20&sort=best&startDate=20140717

Then, I want to be able to loop through and store the article title, date, and article contents of each individual result into corresponding cells so that I may process the text in knime.

I’m unsure if this tutorial covers the aspect of looping through individual entries of a results page or what I need to do differently to ensure I have the article contents available in a table for analysis.

I used the second tutorial you linked, without using Selenium nodes. I went through the part where you inspect the element of the page you want to retrieve.