Brand new user to Knime and I'm not a developer - just need to merge two files...

Hi I’m a new user to Knime and I just want to merge two text files. The concatenate and joiner nodes are looking for columns in the dataset to join before merging. However, I’m not looking to join data from my tables. The first file has some text/header (is a string) info and the second file has a table with headers (tab delimited) - i just want to combine this into one file with the string at the top and the table at the bottom without any carriage return/empty rows. Simple merging of two files with different info and no joins.

Hi @herlo,
you could try to combine it while writing out the new file. In the CSV writer, there is the option “If exists: append”. With this you could first write the header to the new file, then add the table by appending the data to the existing file.

2 Likes

@herlo use the File Reader with fixed length and import as one column then append the two files to a CSV without column headers. Though I am not really sure what you want to use that for :slight_smile:

1 Like

I am also curious about the use-case here.

In addition to what is suggested above, you can use two Line Reader nodes, the Concatenate node and a CSV writer with the setting to ignore the column header.

HI @temesgen-dadi! And thank you so much for your help on this. Use case is to simply process files into a format that a 3rd party SW can understand for a bit of automation requirements. The end file needs to be in a tab delimited txt file format and have: (1) a command script at the top of the file for the the 3rd party SW to read and provide instructions and (2) the actual data in the table directly underneath the command line script for processing.