calculate average value per hour for non uniform time data series

Hello,
I have a time data series that is not uniform (values are taken at arbitrary intervals).
I want to calculate the average value per hour. How can I do that? A Group By node will calculate the mean value of all the measures in a given hour but it is different from what I need.

Thank you and sorry for the dumb question (im new to knime!)

Hi @Olivier_G

Welcome to the KNIME Community!

You can get the hour of each record via the Extract Date&Time Fields node:

You can then use this a base for the groupBy to sum all the values for set hour.

Is this what you’re looking for?

1 Like

Hi @ArjenEX . Thank you for spending time answering my question. Unfortunately a group by node is not enough because I do nothave constant time intervals between measures. I don’t need the average of every single measure, but I have to take in account the time spent between measures. Immagine having a measure every 10 minutes and at some point 10 repeated measure at a very short time intervals. You cant average all together.

Can you manually draft your expected output then in terms of data?

Based on the image in your original post it looks like you want the average of all records that have a certain base hour (13,14, etc.) but your second reply confuses me.

Are you trying to predict the value at a certain time during that hour or something?

I am also confused by your description, but I will often apply a calculated “weight” multiplier to granular data (but in a much different application). Just throwing out the general idea of scoring the values (with unchanged =1) and then multiplying them by their scores weights as a possible way to build a more complex approach… Just taking a shot in the dark.

1 Like

Sorry for the confusion. I will try to meke it clear by an example.
Let’s say I have readings of a car speed over an hour, as following:

The car run at 100 for the whole hour except five minutes at 200.