Clustering question

Hi,

I’m sorry if this questions seems quite basic but I am new to Knime and I am a little confused on some aspects of clustering.

I have a dataset with categorical variables (10) and I would like to perform clustering on this data. I have used to k-means algorithm to try to cluster the data. I tried to hotencode all of my categorical variables using the one-to-many node. I have set the number of clusters to 5 and have a result. I guess my question is, is this the right way of approaching this problem or should I be using k-mode clustering instead of k-means?

Example of data:

Sex, Location, Language, Process Stage

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Eric

Hi Erik, welcome to the knime forum.

I guess that one hot encoding can work with the categorical variables using k-means but it requires that all variables are continuous (see)

To be sincere I do not have much experience with K-medoids handling mixed data however I am attaching a workflow using the K-prototype method with R and calculating the “optimal” number of clusters with the silhouette coeficient with must be complemented with more methods.

Kprototypes.knwf (26.0 KB)

The dataset bank-full.csv can be found here in Kaggle

In my beginnings I have found a nice workflow done by @Fabien_Couprie which used PCA, the CalinskiHarabasz index and a nice 3D representation of the cluster. ( I beg Fabien if you upload it again or provided us the link)

Cheers

4 Likes

Hi mauuuuu5,

Thanks for the clarification.

I guess that certainly rules out k-means for clustering given my data. I’ll take a look at the workflow you linked and see how far that takes me.

Thanks for the quick reply!

w

2 Likes

Sure let me know if you have any question,

Mau

Hi Mau,