Column Expression - Standardizing Addresses

Hello! Looking for help in using Column Expression Editor. I have two files with addresses and one file uses abbreviations for Street, Boulevard, Parkway, etc. I would like to use Column Expression Editor and use ‘replace’ expression to find the elongated text and replace with the abbreviations.

If I understand correctly, I can use Column Expression Editor to replace multiple elongated texts at a time vs. using ‘String Manipulation’. This is my first time using this node, so I am sure the syntax is probably incorrect. Please see the error message below:

Appreciate the help!

Welcome to the forum, @Election24.

The error message is pretty self-explanatory. You configured the node to output an integer, then supplied it with data that cannot be an integer. You need to correct this.

elsamuel - I double checked both files and the addresses are configured as strings.

File to be converted

elsamuel! Found it. Understand now. However, it did not replace Street with St.

Output Table:

elsamuel! Found it. Understand now. However, it did not replace Street with St.

You’re not really providing any troubleshooting information. This cropped screenshot doesn’t help.

In your initial screenshot you configured the node to output a new column named “New Address”. Why are you highlighting the “ADDRESS” column in the most recent screenshot?

How is the Column Expressions node configured?

When asking for help here, it’s a good practice to at least provide the data. The ideal case would be to share the workflow itself along with the data.

1 Like

So, I am new to this forum and am just learning Knime. I have built some very simple flows, and the expression editor is new to me. Apologize if I am not providing enough information to help me troubleshoot. I’m not even sure how to share all of that with you, however, I do see what you are saying and in the new column it is correcting the address.