Combining Column Headers and Values

IHi Everyone,

I am new to Knime but I did some homework and learned some of the basics. I created some workflows to practice but I came out with a use case that I cannot figure out.

I am trying to create a workflow that sends data to InfluxDB. The easier way would be making HTTP calls and sending the POST content using what InfluxDB calls 'Inline Write Protocol’.

In order to do that I’d need to format the content in a certain way, combining some of the names of the column with its value for each entry. As an example:
If I have a table with columns temperature, humidity, and timestamp I’d have to arrange the string in the following format:

weather,location=us-midwest temperature=82,humidity=71 1465839830100400200

where:
weather is the Influx Measurement (something like a Table in InfluxDB)
location=us-midwest is a Tag in InfluxDB, a way of grouping information
column/value sequence separated by a comma
1465839830100400200 is the timestamp

Once I have the content in this format, I can have multiple lines and push a block of data. My original file has 250k lines so I think it would be hard to do it in one single call but I could break it into chunks.

I looked at the REST Post request and it allows me to indicate the column that has the body so I think I’d need to generate a column that has the string described above as its content.

BTW: I have a Python script that does this transformation but I was not able to get it working in Knime

Any insights/ideas? Any feedback is appreciated.

Thanks!
Ewerton

2 Likes

There are probably a few different ways to accomplish this, I think.

One would be to extract the column headers then convert them to flow variables, and use a string manipulation node to assemble the query piece by piece.