Combining Data from two separate files

Hi,
I’m very new to Knime.
I have been tasked with building a workflow whereby I need to add data from one spreadsheet into another.
The data from spreadsheet A needs to input into specific cells into spreadsheet B.
The two files are excel.
Can anyone please assist ?
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

@jasonk2022 First of all welcome to the world of KNIME.

Yout task sounds not too complicated.
Just read both Files using the xls Reader Node into two Tables. Then start with your magic.

In case you provide more details about this magic we can further support you

I agree its not too complicated however I’m new to Knime :slight_smile:

Spreadsheet 1 : Date of Purchase (A1) Amount (B1)
01/01/2022 (A2) 10 $ (B2)
01/02/2022 (A3) 22 $ (B3)

The above has 2 columns and 2 rows.

Spreadsheet 2 : Has 3 columns and 28 rows

I would like to create a workflow whereby I can : 1) Input date (cell A2 spreadsheet 1) into cell B15 spreadsheet 2 2) Input Amount (cell B2 spreadsheet 1) into cell C15 spreadsheet 2

I understand starting the workflow with 2 excel file readers however I do not know how to transpose the data from spreadsheet 1 into specific cells of spreadsheet 2.

Thanks

The Excel Cell Updater node will likely be what you will want at the end once you have pinpointed what you want written and where it will go in the main workflow process.

1 Like

OK thanks. I’ll remember that going forward.
Any advice as to how I would proceed once I loaded the 2 files using the excel reader nodes ?
The concatenate or joiner nodes may not be suitable for what I require.
Thanks

I have too many questions to offer suggestions without more info. Can you upload a workflow with some dummy data that matches your file structure, and include some description of the methodology that you would use to pinpoint the value that you would want written from spreadsheet 1 to spreadsheet 2?