Conversion from Unix timestamp to Date

Hello to everybody here,
complete Newbie having a bit trouble with the conversion of the Unixtimestamps to a normal date. My file csv Input file contails Unixtimestamps in seconds like:

which i would need to convert into a date like:
20.9.2011 13:43:39

Nothing i could think of my own seemd to be working. Then I found the post here in the forum saying i should use the Date&Timeshift node. When i read in the csv i get

First problem now is, that Col0 is the right column but i can’t chose it in the top section (which is a problem i often had while playing around with data a bit), which is quite odd to me. Why can’t i chose whichever column i see fit?

When i pick “Use numerical” with granularity “seconds” on the other hand nothing is beeing transformed values stay as they are.

How do i do this right in Knime?

Have a good one!

Hi there,

you can use the node UNIX Timestamp to Date&Time (admittedly, I didn’t know that it existed until now, thanks to NodePit) to convert the timestamp to a Date/Time cell. The node expects a “Number” input, so you probably need to prepend it with a String to Number node.

Here’s an example workflow in action:

https://nodepit.com/workflow/com.nodepit.space%2Fqqilihq%2Fpublic%2Fforum%2Fconversion-from-unix-timestamp-to-date-21737.knwf

Hope this helps!
Philipp

5 Likes

Hi qqilihq,
thanks for you answer i am going to check this out.
For now: Do you know why i can’t chose in the Top section any columns?
This would interest me on its own sake, since i seem to not understand how the program works / is a problem i might run into a lot later on.

Ok checked out your link,
unfortunately Unix Timestamp to Date&Time is one of the things i tried earlier. I couldn’t get it to work how i need the output date.

There is only one option for Date and Time which produces an output like this:
Output

but as mentioned i would need this format:
20.9.2011 13:43:39

And i didn’t know how to get there.