Counting characters text processing

Hello!
I’m looking to do some text processing in KNIME but I am completely new to it.

I have a preliminary question, but may have more to follow:

1. Is there a way for me to count punctuation marks and capital letters in a string?

I want to analyze text for sentiment, and I’ve found the sentiment analysis workflow, but I also want to do a series of counts, for specific phrases, specific use of words from determined categories. I want to do some statistical categorical analysis of these counts, which I may do in R-studio as I am more comfortable with it.

What I need to know is are there any workflows that I haven’t seen that contain these tasks? Also, I’d like to be able to build a table and store the numbers as I collect these counts, what is the best way of going about this? I know there are many options for table creation.

Thanks in advance!
-Karen

Hi Karen,

regarding simple character counts, you can use the String Manipulation node. Among others, it has a count and a countChars function. To e.g. count the number of punctuation characters, you can use:

countChars($text$, ".,;:?!")

This will count the number of occurrences of any of the given characters in the second argument.

For more sophisticated features, you can use some of the “Snippet” nodes, e.g. a Java Snippet (I used this in the example below to count the number of tokens by doing a RegEx split on whitespace characters):

out_tokenCount = c_text.split("\\s+").length;

Here’s an example workflow which counts several metrics:

– Philipp

4 Likes

Philipp,
That was extremely helpful, thank you.

Now, is there a way I can write my counts to a table with the rest of my data?

The data I’m collecting has columns for news article id, headline, dateline, url, and content. I want my final table to have all of these columns alongside counts for certain specs I’ve gotten using KNIME.