Create a column with drop down menu / list

Hello,

is it possible to create a new column, which contains a dropdown menu where you can select different variables? Like big, medium, small

Thx for your time!

Hi @phil21oo

Take a look at the Single Selection Widget – KNIME Community Hub. And / or read more about the wonderful world of KNIME widgets is this KNIME blog.
gr. Hans

4 Likes

thx, i tried it, but i dont know how to use it, are there any examples?

On the page that Hans mentioned, scroll down to the Related workflows & nodes section. All the workflows listed there use that widget that you can use as example

2 Likes

Hi thx, i know it sounds weird for you as experts, but i am not a professional and it is very hard to understand for me. I already looked at the examples but i am not able to solve the problem.

Hello @phil21oo ,

I think I missed the main point of your question. What are you trying to achieve with the drop down menu? If you can, upload a small dataset (few fake data should be enough) and show us what you are trying to do :slight_smile:

Have a nice day,
Raffaello

1 Like

Hi, thank you very much.

I try to explain it:

What’s not very clear is if you want the user to make this selection in KNIME or that you want KNIME to write to the Excel in such a way that it shows this dropdown with the values.

1 Like

Hi thx, i want KNIME to write to the Excel in such a way that it shows this dropdown with the values and select the values later by my own in the excel sheet

Using a Table Edit node could be the closest solution to what you need.
You won’t have a dropdown column as in Excel, but you could manually insert the value you need with copy/paste.

Create an empty column just before using the Table edit node, so you will find the empty column to be filled with your values. Then use the interactive view to fill the cells.