Creating point data from depth intervals

Hi there,

I’m a relative newbie to Knime and I have a problem I can’t seem to find a solution to anywhere.
I’m working with some drill hole data and wish to combine a bunch of data types into one file so I can compare them.
Each dataset contains a drill hole identifier (Hole_ID) and the down hole depth of the data I want to compare - either m_from, m_to for interval data or m_depth for point data.
I’d like to combine my datasets into a single file with all data types represented at points every 10cm down hole. For this, I’ve created a table with each depth value for all the holes.

I’d like to start by taking the geological logs (below), for which the data is in intervals and generating a file that will show what the logged data is at each 10 cm interval.

Once I’ve done this, I have a bunch of other datasets (XRF geochemistry, magnetic susceptibility, density, conductivity and others) to combine so that I will eventually have a table where each row represents a point (every 10 cm down hole) and has all the available data at that point.

Any help would be much appreciated!

Richard

Hello @richill79 and welcome to the KNIME community.

I’m glad to see some people researching in Geosciences around. I seems that, your first task is about data mining ETL aiming to gather the data from different sources; these are a simple simple tasks that you can achieve by using KNIME.

It, would be easier from your side to provide some data samples or mock ones and explain your desired output on every task. Then, for the people in the forum will be more easy to provide solutions.

For the Geo data that you showed in the picture, you need to define your rules for the intervals first, if top or bottom is included (from >= “m_from” to < “m_to” or vice versa) to work from one of these columns (a desired output).