Customer Name Matching (internal name to external name)

Hello,
I work with a list of thousands of customer names. The data is from our many distributors that details who (what customer) bought what item. It is point of sale data (POS).
The customer’s name entered at the distributor for a purchase is not standardized. Yet, the customer’s name we use in our internal data (SalesForce as an example) is standardized.
We need to match the two data items (POS data to SalesForce). Thus, this is a matter related to customer name normalization but goes deeper than that (machine learning???). This is not a simple matter of removing punctuation or standardizing upper/lower case etc.
Please see example below. Any thoughts on a KNIME process are appreciated. I am somewhat new to KNIME, but I can get around. I am looking for direction on which components or which nodes to use or input from someone who has worked with a project like this one. The data is in Excel.
I am open to RapidMiner suggestions as well.
I also use Tableau Desktop and Tableau Prep Builder.
Thank you.

Hi @wethernt , you probably need to have a mapper/dictionary for this kind of matching, in addition to removing punctuation and standardizing case (upper/lower case).

Looking at your sample list coming from the POS, I think a mapping for the following should be enough:

I used the same sample input data as you have:

I prepare the data with some string manipulation before doing the mapping:
replaceChars(regexReplace(upperCase($column1$), " LP$", ""), ".,", "")

This is basically removing any " LP" at the end, and also removing punctuations such as dots (.) and commas(,), and changing everything to uppercase to match the case of the mapper.

After the manipulation, the prepared data looks like this:

And after mapping: