Data blanding by reading several files in several folders by iterating excel column

Hi KNIMERS,

I’m a beginner, and have recently started learning KNIME. I want to build a workflow that automates the process. The following tasks I should carry out:

• While reading the csv files in a system, the system displayed errors in some of the csv files’ rows. -These error messages were exported to an Excel spreadsheet.

• The excel file has several columns, one of which contains error messages about those CSV files. There is another column that contains the folder name where the csv file is located, another column that contains the file name and the row where the error occurred, and some other columns that have identical headers with the csv files’ columns.

Only the files that are given in the Excel file need to be processed. Thus, we need to iterate the columns where the folder name and the file name are given. Then we need to append the column with the error message to the corresponding CSV files and create new CSV files with corresponding error messages.

Can anyone help me to create this workflow?
I will be grateful for any advice.

@abekchanov if you could give an example it would be good to discuss that. It should contain (artificial) examples how your data would look like.

From what you say you will have to combine several techniques that are all present in knime. If you want to understand the whole path and file business you might read the lengthy KNIME File Handling Guide. It is long but then you will know everything about the handling of paths and files. In your case you will have to convert the paths from the excel column and loop thru them import the CSV files edit the data and save them again.

A smaller example in action is this one with the dynamic reading of files and handling of loops

Then you will have to import the CSV files - where there could be an issue since they failed and might be a problem to be imported.

1 Like