Databases - Beginner

I have 17,000 tables with four columns and approximately 3,000-8,000 rows for each table. I am new to databases in knime, and I would like a simple example on how to create a database and import all those tables. Tables are created through a workflow and a variable that includes url links, and the resulted tables are string and double numbers.
I would appreciate any directions or tutorials or workflow examples for a knime beginner.
Thank you

2 Likes

First question would be so you want to set up a real database or just use a local one like SQLite or H2 and how big your 17.000 files would be altogether.

Would they all go into one DB or separate files. If it so happens that we are talking about the coordinates from this debate the offer for a Dropbox download link still stands :slight_smile:

Maybe you explain a little more what you want to do

SQLite

H2, they exist in memory or on disc. The later would be for you

Hive (big data)

You can use a local example but if you need more power might have to switch to a real dB

To familiarise yourself with the concept I set up this:

If you want to read multiple files like CSV into a data base I came up with this example using Hive although I am not sure how it would scale up on a local machine.

If you need more power fast you could think about buying resources with KNIME on AWS. But my experience with that is limited

For data base connections in general there is the

KNIME Database Extension Guide

https://docs.knime.com/2019-06/db_extension_guide/index.html

2 Likes