Detecting Background Color

Hi Everyone,
First I have no extensive knowledge about image processing but I want to apply a process which will detect the background color of some item photos. Basically, I want to know if the item’s background is white or not.

Currently I apply masking to my images but I don’t know what should I do next, after the masking I want to learn dominant color out of the masking.

Can you please guide me, I am willing to learn more.

Thanks,

knime://EXAMPLES/99_Community/01_Image_Processing/01_Tutorials/02_Application_Tutorials/04_Masking/01_Masking_using_Thresholder

Hi @caceter,
The tutorial Workflow you linked creates a binary image, you can use the Connected Component Analysis node to create a labeling from that. A labeling is like a mask image that you can use for different operations, one of which is regionally restricted calculation of image measurements (features). Using the Image Segment Features node you can extract measurements for each region in the labeling, e.g. the mean pixel value per color channel. This would give you an approximation of the mean color in that region. If you can provide us with a sample picture from you data, I can help you further.
best,
Gabriel

3 Likes

Hi Gabriel,

Many thanks for your message, I am adding the sample images and their masked versions below you can take a look.

1 jpgafter%20mask 2 jpgafter%20mask 3 jpgafter%20mask 4 jpgafter%20mask 5 jpgafter%20mask

Hi @caceter,
I am sorry for the delayed reply, but I was finally able to take a look at these images.
I created a simple workflow that applies the mask to the image and then extracts the median pixel value of the background in each channel.
background-color.knwf (474.7 KB)
best,
Gabriel

I’d like to look at your solution but got an error on Gaussian Convolution:
ERROR Gaussian Convolution 2:11 Error in row image1-mask.jpeg: java.io.IOException: No externalizer available with id ImageMetadataExt3